Though each the referee and VAR had been satisfied that Martin Odegaard’s handball didn’t warrant a penalty for Liverpool, certainly one of his teammates admitted that it could.
Odegaard clearly dealt with the ball within the penalty space within the first half of the 1-1 draw between Liverpool and Arsenal, however the foul was waved away.
It was believed that the midfielder had slipped and tried to regular himself along with his hand in a pure motion, however as an alternative dribbled the ball like a basketball.
It denied a transparent probability for Salah, who would have been via on objective had Odegaard not intervened, and it’s actually questionable whether or not this was pure.
However VAR David Coote noticed match to reject any penalty and determined to not ship referee Chris Kavanagh to the pitch monitor for a second evaluation.
“I am shocked one wasn’t given”?
Jamie Redknapp and Theo Walcott focus on Liverpool’s potential penalty towards Arsenal. pic.twitter.com/QgjTVLKSWn
— Sky Sports activities Premier League (@SkySportsPL) December 23, 2023
Play continued and Salah later canceled out Gabriel’s opener with a shocking end, however Liverpool ought to have had the possibility to equalize earlier.
That was the view of Arsenal centre-back William Saliba, who laughed off a query from Norwegian broadcaster Viaplay.
“Sure after all!” he chuckled when requested if he thought it was a penalty.
“It was a penalty, however I am not the referee they usually have to just accept it [it].”
It will clearly be flawed to focus solely on the penalty determination, particularly as Liverpool had various probabilities to take the lead within the second half.
Shortly after the break, a flurry of probabilities arose as excessive strain pressured Arsenal’s defenders into errors, however the likes of Cody Gakpo and Luis Diaz had been unable to complete.
The largest probability finally fell to Trent Alexander-Arnold, who failed to seek out the again of the online as Salah handed to him in a five-on-one state of affairs.
However Saliba’s admission that Liverpool deserved a penalty is putting as a result of it was apparently solely the referees who thought it was not a handball.